Monday, April 14, 2014

Star Wars Kidscast Episode 8: Teaching with Star Wars

Star Wars Kidscast is back with a BIG episode! So big in fact that there’s TWICE as many guests as we’ve ever had! OK, that just means two guests, but that’s still pretty exciting.

First we chat briefly with Terry Chui from the 501st Legion about Star Wars costuming, “bad guys” doing good for charities and the specific kid-oriented fun planned for Fan Expo Vancouver 2014.  

Next we get in-depth with Craig Dickinson, a 6th grade teacher who uses ALL SIX Star Wars films in his classroom. Imagine studying the Star Wars saga in class as an assignment! Sign me up!

All that & more in this jam-packed episode!

Twitter @FanExpoVan

Twitter @501stLegion

Twitter @Influxman

More excellent Star Wars teaching resources at:
Star Wars In the Classroom

Download this episode (right click and save)

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Star Wars: The Clone Wars for the youngest Younglings

I'm happy to say another article I worked on has been published on, an introduction to Star Wars: The Clone Wars for parents & guardians.

At Star Wars Kidscast, we're BIG fans of The Clone Wars but it should be said that many episodes are scary, darkly intense and possibly too much for the younger younglings in your family.

However, here's an intro to a few of the many episodes that are fun and enjoyable for all ages:

Thanks to Johnamarie Macias & Elisa Ardell for working together on this!

Friday, March 28, 2014

Star Wars Kidscast on Official Star Wars site: The Muppet Connection

Darth Vader & Oscar the Grouch briefly appear together in Night at the Museum
Check out the Official Star Wars Blog and see my first post there! It focuses on the connections between two of my favourite entertainment entities: Star Wars (of course) and The Muppets.

Did you know that Chewbacca once danced on The Muppet Show? Or that C-3PO & R2-D2 visited Sesame Street? Learn more here!

Wocka wocka!

Monday, March 24, 2014

FAN EXPO Vancouver: Plenty for Star Wars Fans!

You know an event is off to a good start when their announcements contain a Yoda quote! If you're fortunate enough to live in the Vancouver area (like me) or within travel distance, be sure to attend FAN EXPO Vancouver April 18-20th.

Here's their announcement, edited for Star Wars lovers like us...

FAN EXPO Vancouver™ will mark its third year by delivering a fan-tastic Easter Break escape for geeks and superheroes of all ages. The celebration of comics, sci-fi, horror, anime, and gaming returns April 18-20, 2014 at the Vancouver Convention Centre.

In the wise words of Jedi Master Yoda “Do or do not, there is no try.” At FAN EXPO Vancouver™ fans can 'do' it all: Q&A’s with celebrities and industry pros, sketch duels, photos opportunities with the entire Star Wars 501st Legion crew, retail and exhibitor areas bursting with rare comics and collectibles to the latest nerd-wear and tech-gear, and gatherings of fellow minded superheroes in and out of disguise (Batman or Bunny costume optional).

“FAN EXPO is the perfect playground for pop culture fans of all ages and this year we made it bigger for Vancouver fans,” says FAN EXPO HQ President, Steve Menzie. "We added 50% more space and a third day so our fans can enjoy even more of the fandom they are so passionate about."

Meet Darth Maul/Ray Park in person...if you dare!

- Star Wars Episode 1's Darth Maul aka. martial arts expert RAY PARK will be there!

- Star Wars Rebels' (the upcoming, very exciting animated TV show) voice actor Steven Blum. He'll be playing Zeb on the new show.
Zeb from the upcoming Star Wars Rebels!

- Star Wars/Lucasfilm artist Robert Bailey will be displaying artwork!

- Star Wars comic & book artist Ken Steacy!


- STAR WARS KIDS HOUR Just for Kids! Join the 501st Legion for Star Wars themed games of skill, with lots of giveaways such as Star Wars tattoos, activity & coloring books! Having fun will be strictly enforced by the Stormtroopers on hand, plus some other special guests!

- STAR WARS GOLD HEART CAMPAIGN Variety - the children’s charity will be on site at Fan Expo Vancouver to sell this year’s limited edition gold heart. More info on these collectibles here.

Of course there will be plenty else to do and celebrity guests to meet if you're into things like Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings and much more! But this is the STAR WARS Kidscast site! For the complete list of guests, info and tickets, visit

Sunday, March 16, 2014

6 Adventures in 1 Book with Star Wars Omnibus: Adventures

Dark Horse Comics’ Star Wars Omnibus: Adventures gathers six Star Wars Adventures graphic novel digests into one hefty 456 page paperback volume.

The adventures are smaller in scale than what you'd see in the movies and don’t directly impact the larger Star Wars saga. In fact, the only story to directly connect to any movie events is the final story Luke Skywalker and the Treasure of the Dragonsnakes. While training on Dagobah with Yoda, Luke learns a lot more about that water creature that tried to eat R2-D2 and spit him out!

Each story focuses on a key character (though Princess Leia and the Royal Ransom feels like it’s really more about Han Solo) and are mostly set between the events of Episode 4 & 5. Chewbacca and the Slavers of the Shadowlands is mostly a flashback from the young wookiee’s childhood. Since they are not connected the stories can be read in any order.

Boba Fett goes treasure hunting!
With different creators for each story, Star Wars Omnibus: Adventures offers a variety of artwork that may be jarring from story to story. The styles range from traditional comic book art to wildly stylized digital paintings. The cutest artwork is in Chewbacca’s story, which is oddly the most violent story of the whole book. 

That raises the question: who are the Adventures books intended for? Dark Horse Comics created this series with younger readers in mind, but they are not for all children. Dark Horse correctly suggests that these books are for ages 8 and older.

Leia shares the spotlight with Han in her story
Star Wars Ewoks: Shadows of Endor was part of the Adventures series so it is not included in this Omnibus collection, though it would fit in here.