Sunday, March 16, 2014

6 Adventures in 1 Book with Star Wars Omnibus: Adventures

Dark Horse Comics’ Star Wars Omnibus: Adventures gathers six Star Wars Adventures graphic novel digests into one hefty 456 page paperback volume.

The adventures are smaller in scale than what you'd see in the movies and don’t directly impact the larger Star Wars saga. In fact, the only story to directly connect to any movie events is the final story Luke Skywalker and the Treasure of the Dragonsnakes. While training on Dagobah with Yoda, Luke learns a lot more about that water creature that tried to eat R2-D2 and spit him out!

Each story focuses on a key character (though Princess Leia and the Royal Ransom feels like it’s really more about Han Solo) and are mostly set between the events of Episode 4 & 5. Chewbacca and the Slavers of the Shadowlands is mostly a flashback from the young wookiee’s childhood. Since they are not connected the stories can be read in any order.

Boba Fett goes treasure hunting!
With different creators for each story, Star Wars Omnibus: Adventures offers a variety of artwork that may be jarring from story to story. The styles range from traditional comic book art to wildly stylized digital paintings. The cutest artwork is in Chewbacca’s story, which is oddly the most violent story of the whole book. 

That raises the question: who are the Adventures books intended for? Dark Horse Comics created this series with younger readers in mind, but they are not for all children. Dark Horse correctly suggests that these books are for ages 8 and older.

Leia shares the spotlight with Han in her story
Star Wars Ewoks: Shadows of Endor was part of the Adventures series so it is not included in this Omnibus collection, though it would fit in here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Got a comment? Something you'd like Star Wars Kidscast to discuss? What's your favourite part about Star Wars? Comments welcome, but scum & villainy is not appreciated.

Recent Posts